Changes to Summit Super Series for 2020

June 19, 2020

   Story courtesy of:  MDIR



The 2020 season will kick off this weekend for the Speed Unlimited ET Series at Maryland International Raceway ™ (MDIR). June 27th – 28th brings the first points races of the year along with boosted purses and more! While racers begin the final preparations to begin the chase for the 2020 championship, we want to remind the racers to be sure to register their X number for the Summit SuperSeries. The International Hot Rod Association (IHRA) announced changes back in April to the Summit SuperSeries program extending the requirement of becoming a member from May 1, 2020 to August 1, 2020.

The Speed Unlimited ET Series at MDIR and Summit SuperSeries champions will be crowned based on the revised schedule of points races at that respective track. MDIR’s champions will need to be Summit SuperSeries members to represent MDIR at the Summit World Finals, where racers will have an opportunity at some fantastic prizes. Summit SuperSeries champions will be determined based on competitors being current Summit SuperSeries members during any points races at their home track.


“The IHRA has been able to adapt and change for the last 15-years to whatever obstacle has been in our way and we plan to attack what may be a shortened season due to this pandemic in the same manner,” said IHRA Vice President Skooter Peaco. “Our focus is to make sure our Sportsman racers have every opportunity to compete for a championship in 2020.”


For more information on the Speed Unlimited ET Series, visit For more information on the IHRA Summit SuperSeries and Summit Team Finals visit