MDIR Teams A & B Set for Team Finals

August 23, 2021 (Updated 09/08/21)

   Story courtesy of:  MDIR


MECHANICSVILLE, MARYLAND (August 23rd, 2021) – Maryland International Raceway ™ (MDIR) for the three of the past five years has been able to field winning teams and two runner up teams at the IHRA Team Finals. Team A will consist of the first 17 points leaders in Top ET, the first 13 points leaders in Mod ET and the first 10 points leaders in Junior Dragster. Team B will consist of the next 17 racers in Top ET, the next 13 racers in Mod ET, and the next 10 racers in Junior Dragster. After Sunday’s Pro Challenge & ATI Performance Products IHRA Sportsman Spectacular presented by Hagerty and Moser Engineering, the points have been compiled and tie breakers verified to see who makes the MDIR teams in 2021. Congratulations to all our drivers who made Team A and Team B! Please let Chris Higgins (, Rebecca Hammonds (, or call the track office at 301-884-9833 and let us know if you will be able to attend the Team Finals event before the 27th to allow those that would like to compete a chance to race.


It is worth noting that "The Mayor of Budds Creek" Charlie Yingling has been on every MDIR Team Finals team since 1976. That is 45 years of IHRA Team Finals events for the man who has raced here since the track opened back in 1966.



Team A Team B
Robbie Parlett Ray Perry
Jason Kirby Partick Estevez Jr
Wesley Washington Jr Allyson Lloyd
Billy Thomas Mickey Nelson
Ben Calhoun Buddy McGowan
Jeff Groat Rickey Nelson
Tony Tull Jimmy Tayman
Mike Nelson Jr Louie Estevez
John Dustin Jena Martin
Marc Williams Laury McGowan Jr
Jeffery Jones Kelly Fenton Taylor
EJ Parker Bert Lewis
Steve Witherow Joe Martin
Brian McLaughlin Logan Hubbell
Adam Douglas Michael Sullivan
Bobby Jones Ray Snoots
Danny Mattera Charlie Yingling



Team A Team B
Jake Milstead AJ Jenkins
Stephen Cross Jr Brian McLaughlin
Jason Kirby Adriana Estevez
Keven Yates Tony Mattera
Bobby Mattera Steve Cross Sr
Bradley Tippett Johnny Burch
Robert Estevez Chad Burch
Keith Burch John Mattera
Patrick Estevez Jr Jonathan Martin
James Getty Darren Payne
Mike Gardiner Don  Baugher
Frank Thompson Jr David Milstead
Ray Perry Michael Franck


Junior Dragster

Team A Team B
Hunter Groat Cameron Dean
Peyton Bunch Brandon Mattera
Gayge Farrell Austin Keys
Tony Williams Trevor Dalton
Kaiden Groves Lacey Boswell
Jordan Denny Gillian Mattera
Hannah Franck Cailyn Barnes
Zach Parlett Hailey Dalton
Jaelynn Ward Lucas Gordy
Seth Goddard Alex Nelson

Alternate 1 – Tyler Sandy (J/D)
Alternate 2 – Jessi Tayman (J/D)

Below are a few bullet points for Team MDIR A and B:
• All tracks bringing a Team B are considered separate teams and could be paired with a teammate from Team A during eliminations.
• The team meal for Team MDIR for will for both the A and the B teams.
• Both the A and the B teams will be parking together for Team MDIR.
• Team B will run on Sunday for the Main event and be able to run in all gambler’s races on Friday and Saturday.
• B Team will earn team points as a separate team for Sunday’s Main Event
• All purses, gambler’s races, etc, will be the same for both teams
• B Team will have to pay their entry fee (Top ET & Mod ET is $80, Junior Dragster is $60) and will not receive a team jacket.
• If you are not able to make the event, please make sure to call the MDIR track office at 301-884-9833 as soon as possible for an alternate can race on the team.

Gates will open at noon on Thursday, September 23rd for parking and will close at 10pm. IHRA Team Finals participants will be able to complete registration from noon to 10pm. Friday, September 25th, gates and registration will open at 8am with two time trials starting at 10am. A Gamblers Race will be starting after the two time trials. Gates will close at 10pm. For the full event schedule, entry fees, and purses please visit the event page or go to

When looking at the names on these teams, there is a strong chance at either team bringing the Team Finals Trophy back home. The IHRA Team Finals is a four-day event September 23rd - 26th ran with surrounding IHRA tracks whose racers band together as a team and race to see who has the best sportsman racers.



Good luck to all the racers and GO TEAM MDIR!